2015-16 Academic Calendar

Fall 2015
Event Day(s) of the Week Date
Course Add/Drop Begins¹ Monday August 10
Check for Holds Preventing Registration¹ Tuesday August 18
New Student Check-in (new undergraduates) Friday August 21
Residence Halls Open/Orientation Begins Friday August 21
Graduate & Professional Student Welcome Monday August 24
Instruction Begins Tuesday August 25
Labor Day/Holiday/No classes Monday September 7
Fall Break Begins, 1:10 p.m. Saturday October 10
Instruction Resumes, 7:30 a.m. Wednesday October 14
Thanksgiving Recess Begins Wednesday November 25
Instruction Resumes, 7:30 a.m. Monday November 30
Last Day of Classes Friday December 4
Study Period Saturday - Tuesday December 5-8
Exams Wednesday - Saturday December 9-12
Study Day Sunday December 13
Exams Monday - Thursday December 14-17
January Graduation Recognition Saturday December 19
Winter 2015-16
Event Day(s) of the Week Date
Winter Session Period Begins Monday December 28
3-Week Classes Begin Monday January 4, 2016
Winter Session Period Ends Saturday January 23
Spring 2016
Event Day(s) of the Week Date
Course Add/Drop Begins¹ Monday January 18
Check for Holds Preventing Registration¹ Tuesday January 19
January Orientation Begins Friday January 22
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day/Holiday Monday January 18
Instruction Begins Wednesday January 27
February Break Begins, 1:10 p.m. Saturday February 13
Instruction Resumes, 7:30 a.m. Wednesday February 17
Spring Break Begins, 1:10 p.m. Saturday March 26
Instruction Resumes, 7:30 a.m. Monday April 4
Last Day of Classes Wednesday May 11
Study Period Thursday - Sunday May 12-15
Exams Monday - Thursday May 16-19
Study Day Friday May 20
Exams Saturday - Tuesday May 21-24
Senior Days Wednesday - Friday May 25-27
Commencement Sunday May 29

There are many summer programs that follow different calendars from the one shown here. For more information on these programs, visit Summer Sessions.

Summer 2016
Event Day(s) of the Week Date
3-Week Session Registration/Classes Begin Wednesday June 1
8-Week Session Registration/Classes Begin Monday June 13
3-Week Session Final Exams Friday June 24
6-Week Session Registration/Classes Begin Monday June 27
6- and 8-Week Sessions Final Exams Monday/Tuesday August 8-9

¹ Verify Add/Drop appointment window and registration holds on Student Center

Key Academic Dates from the Office of the University Registrar website

For complete semester start-up information visit: Cornell University Campus Life and the Office of the University Registrar.

This calendar may be subject to modification and is not legally binding.