2016-17 Academic Calendar

Fall 2016
Event Day(s) of the Week Date
Course Add/Drop Begins¹ Monday August 8
Check for Holds Preventing Registration¹ Tuesday August 16
New Student Check-in (new undergraduates) Friday August 19
Residence Halls Open/Orientation Begins Friday August 19
Graduate & Professional Student Welcome Monday August 22
Instruction Begins Tuesday August 23
Labor Day/Holiday/No classes Monday September 5
Fall Break Begins, 1:10 p.m. Saturday October 8
Instruction Resumes, 7:30 a.m. Wednesday October 12
Thanksgiving Recess Begins Wednesday November 23
Instruction Resumes, 7:30 a.m. Monday November 28
Last Day of Classes Friday December 2
Study Period Saturday - Tuesday December 3-6
Exams Wednesday - Saturday December 7-10
Study Day Sunday December 11
Exams Monday - Thursday December 12-15
January Graduation Recognition Saturday December 17
Winter 2016-17
Event Day(s) of the Week Date
Winter Session Period Begins Monday December 26
3-Week Classes Begin Monday January 2, 2017
Winter Session Period Ends Saturday January 21
Spring 2017
Event Day(s) of the Week Date
Course Add/Drop Begins¹ Monday January 16
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day/Holiday Monday January 16
Check for Holds Preventing Registration¹ Tuesday January 17
January Orientation Begins Friday January 20
Instruction Begins Wednesday January 25
February Break Begins, 1:10 p.m. Saturday February 18
Instruction Resumes, 7:30 a.m. Wednesday February 22
Spring Break Begins, 1:10 p.m. Saturday April 1
Instruction Resumes, 7:30 a.m. Monday April 10
Last Day of Classes Wednesday May 10
Study Period Thursday - Sunday May 11-14
Exams Monday - Thursday May 15-18
Study Day Friday May 19
Exams Saturday - Tuesday May 20-23
Senior Days Wednesday - Friday May 24-26
Commencement Sunday May 28

There are many summer programs that follow different calendars from the one shown here. For more information on these programs, visit Summer Sessions.

Summer 2017
Event Day(s) of the Week Date
3-Week Session Registration/Classes Begin Wednesday May 31
8-Week Session Registration/Classes Begin Monday June 12
3-Week Session Final Exams Friday June 23
6-Week Session Registration/Classes Begin Monday June 26
6- and 8-Week Sessions Final Exams Monday/Tuesday August 7-8

¹ Verify Add/Drop appointment window and registration holds on Student Center

Key Academic Dates from the Office of the University Registrar website

For complete semester start-up information visit: Cornell University Campus Life and the Office of the University Registrar.

This calendar may be subject to modification and is not legally binding.