Skip to main content

Announcing David J. Skorton, the next president of Cornell University

Peter C. Meinig

PETER C. MEINIG ('61, BME '62 Cornell; MBA '64 Harvard) is chairman and chief executive officer of HM International, Inc. of Tulsa, Oklahoma, a privately held management/holding company of various manufacturing and service businesses. He also serves as chairman of PGI International, Ltd., of Houston; chairman of Windsor Food Co; and director of Ninth House, Inc., of San Francisco. He is a former director of the Williams Companies, Inc. and the Williams Communication Group, Inc. of Tulsa.

A member of the Board of Trustees since 1991, Mr. Meinig became chairman of the board on July 1, 2002. As chairman, he is an ex officio member of all standing committees and of the Weill Cornell Medical College's Board of Overseers. Mr. Meinig previously served as chairman of the Executive Committee, the Trustee Special Advisory Committee on Distance Learning, and the Subcommittee on Alumni Affairs, and co-chaired the Scholarship Campaign that concluded in December 1999. He has been a member of eCornell's board of directors since its establishment and served as chair until 2002.

In past years Mr. Meinig was the regional vice president of the Cornell Society of Engineers for the Southwest/Mountain Region and served as vice chair of the College of Engineering Campaign that concluded in 1995. He sat on the Administrative Board of the Cornell University Council from 1990 to 1992 and continues to be a member of the council. Mr. and Mrs. Meinig helped revitalize the Parent's Fund and served as co-chairs in 1987-88. They were the National Tower Club co-chairs for fiscal years 1993 and 1994. The Meinigs remain active on the Cornell campus through their support of the Meinig Family National Scholar Program. Beyond Cornell, Mr. Meinig serves on the board of the Tulsa Area United Way, on the Board of Directors of the Indian Nations Council of the Boy Scouts of America, and on the Board of Trustees of the University of Tulsa, and is a former chairman of the Tulsa City County Library Commission.

back to Search Committee page