Skip to main content

Announcing David J. Skorton, the next president of Cornell University

Stephen H. Weiss

STEPHEN H. WEISS ('57 AB Cornell) is a chairman emeritus of the Cornell Board of Trustees. He was a board-elected trustee from 1973 until 1997. As chairman of the Board of Trustees, 1989-97, he was an ex officio member of all standing committees of the board, as well as a member of the Board of Overseers of the Medical College and Graduate School of Medical Sciences. He was vice chairman of the board from 1983 to 1989.

Mr. Weiss chaired the Board Membership Committee in 1983-84 and 1985-88. He served on many ad hoc committees of the board including Presidential Search Committees for Frank H. T. Rhodes, Hunter R. Rawlings III, and Jeffrey S. Lehman; and Capital Financing, Health Professions Schools, Director of Physical Education and Athletics, Investment Advisory and Proxy Advisory Committees. He is a former member of the Advisory Councils of the College of Arts and Sciences (1975 until 1990) and the College of Veterinary Medicine. He was a member of the Joint Board for the New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center for the period 1977-97. He was the first chairman of the Board of Overseers of the Medical College and Graduate School of Medical Sciences, serving from 1980 to 1982 and is presently a Life Overseer. Mr. Weiss also serves as a Presidential Counselor.

Mr. Weiss co-founded the investment management firm of Weiss, Peck & Greer in 1970. From February 1970 until March 2001, he served as chief executive officer and chairman of the WPG Executive Committee. Previously, he served 11 years with A.G. Becker & Co., Inc., where he became a vice president, voting shareholder and a member of the Board of Directors. Mr. Weiss is also a member of the Citizens Budget Commission of New York City, the Citizens Committee for New York City, and the National Humanities Center. He is also vice chairman of the Centurion Foundation and serves on the board of the Teagle Foundation. On August 18, 2000, Mr. Weiss was appointed an honorary police commissioner of New York City.

back to Search Committee page